Hollywood Memories

Cinematic Remaking and the Construction of Global Movie Generations


DFG-funded Emmy Noether Research Group, 2020-2026

Cinematic remaking is a longstanding Hollywood practice: an industrially driven, creative process that generates film remakes, sequels, prequels, etc. over many years and decades. At the intersection of American studies, cultural memory studies, film studies, generation theory, and global studies, this project examines the long-term cultural effects of such films, hypothesizing that they shape memories, lived experiences, and generational identities of viewers in a globalized world. The mixed-method comparative investigation focuses on how popular culture, media, and memory shape constructions of generationality. Remaking, I argue, encourages prolonged reception of and engagement with narratives through repetition and serial unfolding over long periods of time, offering structures and meanings for the self. The repertoire of shared media texts plays a formative role in the shaping of selfhood and in the construction and maintenance of communal coherence. 

If remaking results in the persistent return of the familiar, do narrative images, characters, storyworlds, and stars become meaningful points of reference and identification? I understand Hollywood memories as mnemonic processes, in which Hollywood films become thoroughly entangled with lived experiences in specific historical and cultural contexts: life stages (childhood, youth, adulthood, late life), social practices and spaces, and cultural and geopolitical reception contexts (availability, textual polysemy, interpretive agency). My concept of movie generations captures how remaking, by bringing back formative media texts at different life stages, provides temporal markers that synchronize ongoing narrative and technological evolution with the viewers’ lives and instills a sense of generational belonging. The aim is to study this generational construction of a “we-sense” and to examine whether the global and enduring presence of Hollywood films forges global movie generations.

The project combines historical inquiry, qualitative methods, and film analysis, focusing on empirical audience research in the USA, Germany, Mexico, and China, where three successive generations of viewers are interviewed about their memories, experiences, and attitudes regarding Hollywood films and remaking. The cross-generational set-up and choice of countries allow to gain insights into the paradigms that drive the globally distinct evolution of remaking and a kaleidoscopic view of its cultural impact. The USA represent the domestic market, Germany a zone of U.S. occupation and re-education, Mexico a postcolonial state troubled by its relations to the USA, and China a communist country that banned U.S. cultural products for decades. With its approach to remaking as a global practice that is biographically and media-technologically embedded in viewers’ lives, the project opens up new pathways of investigation and makes a case for quali­tative methods in the study of remaking and the Humanities.

PROJECT TEAM

Prof. Dr. Kathleen Loock
Professors
Address
Königsworther Platz 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
631
Prof. Dr. Kathleen Loock
Professors
Address
Königsworther Platz 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
631
© Stefan Dierkes
Stefan Dierkes, M.A.
Research Staff
Address
Königsworther Platz 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
628
© Stefan Dierkes
Stefan Dierkes, M.A.
Research Staff
Address
Königsworther Platz 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
628

ASSISTANTS

Alissa Lienhard
Student Assistant
Alissa Lienhard
Student Assistant
Lida Shams-Mostofi
Executive Board
Address
Königsworther Platz 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
628
Lida Shams-Mostofi
Executive Board
Address
Königsworther Platz 1
30167 Hannover
Building
Room
628

ASSOCIATED MEMBERS

© Brunella Tedesco-Barlocco
Brunella Tedesco-Barlocco
PhD Candidate / Associated Member of the Emmy Noether-Group "Hollywood Memories"
Address
Pompeu Fabra University
© Brunella Tedesco-Barlocco
Brunella Tedesco-Barlocco
PhD Candidate / Associated Member of the Emmy Noether-Group "Hollywood Memories"
Address
Pompeu Fabra University

ForschungAmerican Studies
Hollywood Memories

Hollywoodgedächtnis

Remaking und die Konstruktion globaler Filmgenerationen


© Flickr/ Taema

DFG-geförderte Emmy Noether-Nachwuchsgruppe, 2020-2026

Remaking ist eine langjährige Hollywoodpraxis: ein industriell motivierter, kreativer Prozess, der über Jahrzehnte hinweg Neuverfilmungen, Fortsetzungen usw. erzeugt. An der Schnittstelle von American Studies, Memory Studies, Filmwissenschaften, Generationentheorie und Global Studies untersucht das Projekt die langfristigen kulturellen Auswirkungen solcher Filme und nimmt an, dass sie Erinnerungen, gelebte Erfahrungen und generationsbezogene Identitäten von Zuschauer*innen in einer globalisierten Welt prägen. Es geht darum, wie Populärkultur, Medien und Gedächtnis Generationalität konstruieren. Durch Wiederholung und serielle Entfaltung über lange Zeiträume hinweg fördert Remaking die kontinuierliche Rezeption und Auseinandersetzung mit Narrativen und bietet dadurch sinngebende Strukturen an. Das Repertoire gemeinsamer Medientexte spielt somit eine Rolle für das Selbstkonzept sowie die Konstruktion und Erhaltung von Gemeinschaften. 

Wenn Remaking für die beständige Rückkehr des Vertrauten steht, werden dann narrative Bilder, Figuren, Erzählwelten und Stars zu sinnstiftenden Bezugspunkten? Unter Hollywoodgedächtnis fasse ich Erinnerungsprozesse, in denen sich Hollywoodfilme mit lebensweltlichen Erfahrungen in konkreten historischen und kulturellen Kontexten verflechten: Lebensphasen (Kindheit, Jugend, Erwachsensein), soziale Praktiken und Räume sowie kulturelle und geopolitische Rezeptionskontexte (Verfügbarkeit, textuelle Polysemie, Interpretationsspielraum). Mein Konzept der Filmgenerationen beschreibt, wie das Remaking, indem es formative Medientexte in verschiedenen Lebensphasen zurückbringt, zeitliche Marker liefert, die die laufende narrative und technologische Evolution mit dem Leben der Zuschauer*innen synchronisieren und dabei Generationenzugehörigkeit vermitteln. Ziel ist es, solche mediatisierten Konstruktionen zu erforschen und zu prüfen, ob die weltweite, dauerhafte Präsenz von Hollywoodfilmen sich schließlich in globalen Filmgenerationen niederschlägt.

Historische Forschung, qualitative Methoden und Filmanalyse kombinierend, konzentriert sich das Projekt auf empirische Rezeptionsforschung in den USA, Deutschland, Mexiko und China. Drei aufeinanderfolgende Generationen von Zuschauer*innen sollen über ihre Erinnerungen, Erfahrungen und Einstellungen zu Hollywoodfilmen und Remaking interviewt werden, um Paradigmen der global unterschiedlich verlaufenden Evolution des Remaking zu erforschen und einen kaleidoskopischen Blick auf die kulturellen Effekte zu werfen. Die USA repräsentieren den Inlandsmarkt, Deutschland eine ehemalige Besatzungszone der USA mit Reeducation-Politik, Mexiko einen postkolonialen Staat mit schwierigen Beziehungen zu den USA und China ein kommunistisches Land, das jahrzehntelang US-Kulturprodukte verbot. Der Ansatz versteht Remaking als globale Praxis, die biographisch und medientechnisch in die Lebenswelt der Zuschauer*innen eingebettet ist, und ebnet den Weg für qualitative Methoden in den Geisteswissenschaften.

PROJEKTLEITUNG

Prof. Dr. Kathleen Loock
Professorinnen und Professoren
Lehrgebiet American Studies
Adresse
Königsworther Platz 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
631
Prof. Dr. Kathleen Loock
Professorinnen und Professoren
Lehrgebiet American Studies
Adresse
Königsworther Platz 1
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
631

WISSENSCHAFTLICHE HILFSKRAFT

Alissa Lienhard
Studentische Hilfskraft
Alissa Lienhard
Studentische Hilfskraft